NASCAR champion honored with hall vote

CONCORD, N.C. (AP) – Reigning NASCAR champion Jimmie Johnson was honored and just a little bit anxious about voting for the NASCAR Hall of Fame this week.

For the first time in NASCAR, a current competitor was allowed to help select the five inductees for the 2015 Hall of Fame class. Johnson was part of a 54-member panel that picked Bill Elliott, Wendell Scott, Rex White, Joe Weatherly and Fred Lorenzen for induction into the hall next January.

Johnson said he read through the briefing book twice to study up on the 20 nominees. He said he did not get any good-natured grief from hall nominee and Johnson’s car owner, Rick Hendrick, who did not make the final cut.

Categories: Motorsports, Sports

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *