Darrell Wallace Jr. wins at Martinsville again

MARTINSVILLE, Va. (AP) – Darrell Wallace Jr. has won the Truck Series race at Martinsville Speedway for the second consecutive year.

The victory Saturday comes a year after Wallace became the first black driver to win a national NASCAR race since Wendell Scott in 1963.

Kyle Busch Motorsports changed the number of Wallace’s Toyota truck on Saturday from No. 54 to No. 34 on Saturday to honor Scott. The NASCAR pioneer will be posthumously inducted into the NASCAR Hall of Fame in January.

Wallace led a race-high 97 laps in winning his third race of the season. The victory cut Wallace’s deficit in the Truck Series point standings to Matt Crafton to 28 with four races remaining.

Timothy Peters finished second, followed by Crafton, Erik Jones and Ryan Blaney.

(Copyright 2014 The Associated Press. All rights reserved. This material may not be published, broadcast, rewritten or redistributed.)

Categories: Motorsports, Sports