Sunoco to sponsor Indy 500 rookie of the year

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) – Fuel company Sunoco will be the presenting sponsor of the rookie of the year award at the Indianapolis 500, its latest step in a longstanding relationship with the race.

Among those who have won the award are Parnelli Jones, Mario Andretti and Tony Stewart.

Indianapolis Motor Speedway President J. Douglas Boles said Wednesday that “what makes the award exciting is that a driver who might not have had the best of practice or qualifying leading up to the race could put it all together on race day and make a strong showing when it counts.”

The award is voted on by speedway officials, IndyCar officials and the media. The winner will be announced Monday, the day after the 98th running of the Indy 500.

Categories: Motorsports, National Sports, Sports

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *