Montoya is tops of those ineligible for Indy pole

INDIANAPOLIS (AP) – Juan Pablo Montoya had the fastest four-lap average among drivers ineligible to win the Indianapolis 500 pole and will start 10th.

Ed Carpenter, Carlos Munoz and Helio Castroneves led the qualifying runs on Saturday and are among the nine drivers that will compete for the Indy pole. The top nine drivers head out Sunday as part of Indy’s revamped qualifying format.

Montoya averaged 231.007 mph and is 10th. He’s followed by reigning series champion Scott Dixon and former NASCAR champion Kurt Busch.

Busch is set to race 1,100 miles in the Indianapolis 500 and the Coca-Cola 600 on May 25. Busch raced in NASCAR’s All-Star race the night before and flew back from Concord, North Carolina, on Sunday morning.

Categories: Motorsports, National Sports, Sports

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *