New penny sales tax to be on May ballot for Middle Georgia Counties

MACON, Georgia (41NBC/WMGT) – This May, Middle Georgia residents will get to vote on a new penny sales tax. The Transportation Special Local Option Sales Tax (TSPLOST) will be on the ballot for 11 counties.

Those counties voting, are Baldwin, Crawford, Houston, Jones, Macon-Bibb, Monroe, Peach, Pulaski, Putnam, Twiggs and Wilkinson. If passed, the 10 year tax plan is expected to generate $637 million, which will fund 55 projects in those counties.

Sme of those including widening Log Cabin Road in Baldwin, paving Old Highway 18 in Jones, and extending Sardis Church to I-16.

Categories: Local News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *