New Bibb County School Board members sworn in

MACON, Georgia (41NBC/WMGT) – The Bibb County Board of Education has five new Board members. Those sworn into office Thursday are Ella Carter (District 1), Dr. Thelma Dillard (District 2), Susan K. Sipe (District 3), Lester Miller (District 4), Dr. Sundra Woodford (District 5), and Bob Easter (District 6).

They will begin their duties in January. The new additions say they want to build on the last four years and keep moving the district forward.

“I hope to bring the parents voice to the table. I’m excited about this opportunity to get parents involved and children excited about education so that we all benefit,” said Dr. Woodford, who is replacing long-time school board member Tom Hudson.

One of the school board’s goals is to raise the graduation rate to 90-percent by the year 2025. District officials says it’s around 72-percent right now.

Categories: Bibb County, Local News

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *